The Ultimate Challenge 1984

On the 12th May 1984 Peter Goddard set off on the Ultimate Challenge with three friends - from left to right in the photo are Mic (better known as 'Quincy'), Jessica, Peter and Anne. Their route was from Lochailort to Montrose. This is Peter's record of that trip.

Mic (better known as 'Quincy'), Jessica, Peter and Anne
Contents - just click on the page title
Page Title
Day 1 - Saturday 12th May - Lochailort to Kinlochbeoraid
Day 2 Sunday 13th May - Kinlochbeoraid to Glen Sulaig
Day 3 Monday 14th May - Glen Sulaig to Glen Nevis
Day 4 Tuesday 15th May - Glen Nevis to Tom an Eite
Day 5 Wednesday 16th May - Tom an Eite to Loch Ossian
Day 6 Thursday 17th May - Loch Ossian to Culra Bothy
Day 7 Friday 18th May - Culra to Dalwhinnie
Day 8 Saturday 19th May - Dalwhinnie almost to Glen Feshie
Day 9 Sunday 20th May - A high level day to Glen Dee
Day 10 Monday 21st May - To The Fife Arms, Braemar
Day 11 Tuesday 22nd May - Braemar to Carn an t-Sagairt Mor
Day 12 Wednesday 23rd May - Carn an t-Sagairt Mor to Water of Mark
Day 13 Thursday 24th May - Water of Mark to Bridgend
Day 14 Friday 25th May - Water of Mark to Montrose

PLEASE NOTE - this account was written well over twenty years ago - do not rely on it as a guide for today. Some of the places mentioned (i.e the MRT Bothy at Glen Muick, The Parsonage) are no longer relevant.

Click here to return to TGO page